DAP has a feature where if a user logs in from more IP addresses than what you’ve configured as DAP Admin (default: 5) under “Setup > Config > Advanced > Max. # of User Logins From Different IP’s” , then the user’s account automatically gets “Locked”, and both the user and you (the admin) will get an email notifying you that the user’s account has been locked.
You could then unlock them yourself, or wait for the user to send you an email and ask to be unlocked.
How to Unlock Users
- Search for the User by email on the “Users > Manage” screen
- Click on the name or user id. You will now be taken to the “Edit User” screen where you can see the user’s full details
- Next to user’s name, you should see a button called “Unlock User” (you will see this only if the status of the user is “Locked”, and won’t see it for other regular users).
- Click on the “Unlock User” button. That’s it. When you click the “Unlock User” button, the user’s login records are deleted, and the previously recorded IP addresses are deleted. So user basically starts with a fresh, new login count.
TIP: If your users are getting locked out too frequently, and you don’t want the hassle of unlocking them regularly, simply set the count to a higher number – like 20. Or you can also disable login IP check for individual users, or for your entire web site as a whole.